Early Adopters of International Service of Process Through the Hague Convention

By April 27, 2015 No Comments

international service of process through the Hague ConventionThe Hague Convention is one method of international service of process abroad. There are currently 63 signatories to the Hague Convention on Service Abroad of Judicial and Extrajudicial Documents.

The Hague Service Convention was adopted on November 15, 1965 in the Netherlands. Countries continue to adopt the Hague Service Convention, providing an easier method of service than pursuing Letters Rogatory. Yet there are some countries who have been a party international service of process through the Hague Service Convention since it was created. The earliest adopters of the Hague Service Convention (with the date ratified) include:

  • Barbados (1969)
  • Botswana (1969)
  • Denmark (1969)
  • Egypt (1969)
  • Finland (1969)
  • Norway (1969)
  • Sweden (1969)
  • United Kingdom (1969)
  • United States (1969)

While the Hague Service Convention was adopted in 1965, it took the majority of countries a number of years to fully adopt its provisions with the first countries entering it into force in 1969.  Interestingly enough the Netherlands (where the Convention was adopted), while signing the Convention in 1965, didn’t officially enter its provisions into force until 1975.

As more countries continue to ratify the Hague Service Convention, international service of process becomes an easier and less costly venture in these countries.

Leave a Reply