Serve a Subpoena Through the UIDDA (Uniform Interstate Depositions and Discovery Act)

service through the UIDDA

Eliminate the need to hire an attorney in another state to reissue a subpoena by utilizing the UIDDA. Created to facilitate easier service of process of subpoenas over state lines, the new procedure introduced by the UIDDA in 2007 simplifies deposing individuals and producing discoverable evidence.

Why use a process server

Even though the process has been simplified, it doesn’t mean that the documents can be served as is within a different state than the original jurisdiction. The UIDDA process, in most cases, requires dealing with the clerk of the court in the jurisdiction where discovery is being sought. While you don’t need to file a motion, this subpoena does still need to be reissued in the new jurisdiction.

Given the variances in state rules and policies, using a process server can be extremely beneficial in expediting the timeline and accuracy of domesticating a foreign subpoena. DGR is familiar with every court clerk and has facilitated service through the UIDDA in thousands of cases. You’ll save time on the research involved in locating the correct court clerk and local process, while ensuring accuracy and speed of completion with a knowledgeable vendor.

Domesticating a foreign subpoena

Prior to the introduction of the UIDDA, domesticating a foreign subpoena was a convoluted process that not only took up time and money but also consumed valuable court resources.

According to the Uniform Law Commission, domesticating a subpoena under the UIDDA requires litigants to “present a clerk of the court located in the state where discoverable materials are sought with a subpoena issued by a court in the trial state. Once the clerk receives the foreign subpoena, the clerk will issue a subpoena for service upon the person or entity on which the original subpoena is directed.”

When can you serve through the UIDDA?

While not every state has adopted the UIDDA, it can be extremely useful in the states that have.

Please note: the states listed below are subject to change at any time. For a complete list of states that have adopted the UIDDA, please visit the Uniform Law Commission’s website: UIDDA Fact Sheet.

States which are part of the UIDDA:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi

  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • U.S. Virgin Islands
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

States which are not part of the UIDDA:

  • Maine
  • New Hampshire
  • Massachusetts
  • Connecticut
  • Wyoming
  • Nebraska
  • Missouri
  • Texas
  • Rhode Island
  • Puerto Rico
  • Florida